LiveZilla Live Chat Software
RCM - Resellerclub Mods

Welcome, Guest

TOPIC: Transfer domain with email

Transfer domain with email 4 years 7 months ago #163

I have been trolling the web and think I have the safest procedure for this but wanted to double check the process when moving a client to paid email hosting. I assume there are people here who have done this many times. This is my first time transferring a client's emails so want to ensure everything will go without a hitch.
  1. Create paid email hosting service for client.
  2. Check DNS records have been created and add A record(s) for the clients current website.
  3. Create all email addresses in the new hosting service. I am assuming we will have full access to create the addresses at this time.
  4. Forward current email addresses to a "safe" email address so emails won't get lost during the service transfer.
  5. Change the nameservers at the client's domain registrar to mine.
  6. Wait for propagation of the DNS and ensure new email accounts are working.
  7. Initiate transfer of the client's domain to my account via the usual method
Have I missed anything or should I change the order of any of the steps.

Many Thanks
Last Edit: 4 years 7 months ago by ZeroGravity.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Transfer domain with email 4 years 7 months ago #164

• Marco
Hi,

These steps are correct and you will have a seemless migration without loosing any mails.

However, point 4 is not clear for me and does not make sense: